This Crazy Roller Coaster Ride Called Life

As I sit here in this hospital room, typing on my school’s iPad with one finger, I just wanted to take a moment to update everyone of where I’m at in this long recovery process.  But before I do that, I want to say a big thank you to everyone.  I just typed a simple status to ask for some prayers because I was scared.  But what I found was tons of people sharing that status, praying, holding prayer vigils one several campuses and at several different schools.  I found out that people donated money and resources to help my husband stay in Albuquerque to be with me, and helped my sister to fly out to help Ryan care for Azy.  People are also donating their hard earned money just to help with medical expenses and lost wages on my husbands behalf (something I never thought about happening nor even came close to expecting or asking for.)  you all are amazing and I have never felt more loved in my life than I do right now.  So thank you!  And those words do not even come close to what you deserve to hear.


So from the beginning, here is the story.  2 weeks ago our van sliding door broke, so we had to open it from the inside.  I would take my right palm and reach in to push it open.  From that I guess I hit it too hard because one day it caused my right palm below my thumb to swell up, bruise, and hurt really bad.  Over the next week I couldn’t move my thumb, but it did go away and get better.  Last Friday came along and ary and I decided to go to Albuquerque for Mothers Day.  He had been working extra hours just to have enough money to surprise me with this trip.  I started getting the same pain I felt in my thumb, in my left forearm, but didn’t think anything of it.  Saturday came, and then Sunday, and by the time we got to the zoo Sunday afternoon, I could barely push the stroller or hold Azy.   We got home that night and Ryan had to bath Azy, change her, put her to bed, and pick her up during the night to help me feed her.  The only thing I could think of the cause of the pain was that I had carried my carrier on my forearm, which put too much pressure on it and strained it.  I honestly thought it would go away with more rest. But by the time the morning came I could barely function with it hanging, so I grabbed tylonol, my sling I still had, and headed to work.  I ended up having to go home at 10 because the pain was too much, and by that time, my forearm was dis colored, and it was completely swelled up.  I couldn’t move my fingers, wrist, and could barely extend my elbow.


When I got home, I made an appt. for the doctors later that afternoon.  When I went in, the swelling was worse, pain had increased, and I was now loosing sensation in my fingers.  When the doctor saw me, he sent me straight to the hospital in fear I had celluliteus, or a blood clot in my arm.  Waiting in that hospital waiting room was probably the most excruciating thing I’ve ever had to endure.  I remember looking at Ryan just begging him to cut the whole thing off and telling him over and over that I didn’t think I could do it anymore.  


They finally got me back to a room and gave me some pretty strong pain meds through my IV and the pain went away pretty good.  After several tests, the doctors came to the conclusion that there was no blood clot, and no tumor, but that I had developed what’s called “compartment syndrome” it’s where fluid builds up in compartments in my arm and can’t escape.  They were thinking they would have to cut open my entire forearm to relieve the pressure if it was too high.  This is a pretty serious thing and apparently if left too long, your arm would need to be removed.  The doctor tested the pressure in my arm and found it was not high enough for the surgery, but that he would admit me and elevate my arm overnight to relieve the pressure.  By the time morning came, the pressure had gone down, but I couldn’t feel my hand any longer so the plan was to open up just my wrist to release the carpel tunnel vain so the sensation would return.  Once I got back to the OR, they discovered that my clotting factors were too high and if they proceeded with surgery, I would risk bleeding out and them not being able to control it.  They then postponed for Wednesday at noon.  

In the morning they gave me some fresh frozen plasma in hopes it would bring my levels back down to normal.  However, they then discovered that they were unsure as to what specific factor was the problem.  After a phone consultation with the hematologist in Albuquerque, they discovered that I have a rare condition that is known as postpartum factor 8 deficiency.  This means that due to my pregnancy, I am unable to clot properly because of factor 8.  The Gallup hospital was unable to provide proper care for me, so they flew me to the UNM hospital in Albuquerque where I could be monitored by the proper team of doctors, and where they had the Novo 7 medicine that would reverse the factor 8 deficiency.


I arrived in Albuquerque Wednesday afternoon, and they began administering me the novo 7 around 9 pm.  By 9 in the morning, I was wheeled back to the OR to finally begin surgery.  Once I was finished, I was told that they had performed the surgery on my wrist, as well as my entire forearm because of the lack of sensation that had now moved down my entire hand to my wrist.  But while opening up my wrist, they discovered a clot in my arm which they removed.  This was also causing the numbness and increase of pressure in my arm and wrist.  (Don’t ask me to explain how I can have both clotting problems and a clot at the same time.)


I am currently waiting for my next surgery on Saturday to close up my arm which has been left open to relive the pressure.  My hand is still tingly, but some sensation has returned.  The orthodox doctors are returning in half an hour to reevaluate my arm.  If they feel it is bleeding too much, they will take me back to OR to fix the problem.  I have lost a lot of blood and am very dizzy, but they are taking good care of me here, and if they think it is a big problem, they will give me a blood transfusion.  


Please continue to pray for Ryan and Azy.  She’s off schedule right now and is super fussy, which is causing Ryan to stress.  We are so thankful for Krista (Ryan’s sister) who is here helping care for her.  It really gives Ryan a break.


Please also continue to pray for me.  It is hard being away from my family, and scary not knowing how this will end.  I am trying to lean on Jesus and know He’s got this all covered, but even that has become hard.  Please continue to pray for safety for me and speedy recovery.  I don’t know how long they will keep me here, nor how the surgery will go, but I will try to keep everyone up to date.


Thank you again for all your love and support.  My family and I couldn’t do this without you.  I am attaching the link to the go fund me account my mom set up for us.  Please don’t feel obligated to give financially, your prayers are the most important.  It’s just fort hoses who wanted it and for those who have felt lead to give in that way.


Thank you again so much.  I love and appreciate you all.

http://www.gofundme.com/uhmn5n3b

6 thoughts on “This Crazy Roller Coaster Ride Called Life

  1. wanda coletta

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you, Ryan, and Azy! Glad to hear your surgery went well and you are on the road to recovery!

    Like

  2. Sandy de Ryke

    Love you all; am praying for you all; have contributed financially. I don’t know what else to do, but if I think of something I’ll do it. Thank you so much for the updates. You’re in a lot of peoples hearts and minds. Think about you all day long, Just get better. Will help more on this end when you get here (and you will). You have many people willing to help all the way around, so just concentrate on getting better. BIG HUGS!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

