Life Lessons

“For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.” -Galatians 5:13

So today marks an important event in my life. This was the last day of my first year of teaching. It has not been an easy year for me in the slightest, and it was nothing like I imagined it to be, but I wouldn’t trade this year and experience for anything in the world.

To start out the year, I took a leap of faith with my husband and moved farther away from my family than I have ever been before. We moved to a place, while still in the United States, felt every bit like a foreign country to me. The culture, the religion, the environment. Everything was so vastly different than I had ever been exposed to before. When we made this journey, I was pregnant with my first child, and that experience in itself was not the greatest for me. I was depressed for half of it, and continually sick for the rest. So having the motivation to get up and teach every day was often a struggle. The first seven or so months into the school year I constantly wanted to go home to Michigan. Each visit left me on the bed in tears, not wanting to come back. But through all that, God comforted me and showed me the purpose I had here was far greater than I could ever know.

Slowly but surely, I was able to learn contentment with my circumstances and fall deeper and deeper in love with the children I was blessed to call my first students. Their character, quirks, demeanor, is all the perfect recipe for children who I love so much, and am struggling having to let go of for next year. They have challenged every little bit of me, in so many amazing ways, and they have loved me back even on my hardest of days.

So I give praise to God for allowing me to be involved in this community for the short amount of time that I was.  I thank him for giving me such wonderful kids to mold and shape throughout the year.  I thank God for giving me 16 wonderful “teachers” in return. Zuni New Mexico, you will always own a very special place in my heart, and I will be back to visit… SOON!

IMG_0340 IMG_0357 IMG_0372 IMG_0427 IMG_0468 IMG_0473 IMG_0736 IMG_1018

“To the world, you may be a teacher, but to your students, you are a hero” -unknown

Leave a Reply

