Pure Beauty

When you hear the word “beauty”, what is the first thing you think of? The dictionary defines it as “a combination of qualities, such as shape, color, or form, that pleases the aesthetic senses, especially the sight.” But I tend to think of beauty as so much more than that.
Yesterday I went on my first official hike here in New Mexico with Ryan and Azy. It was too difficult for me when I was pregnant, so unfortunately it took me almost a year to get out there. We went to Box Canyon at Nutria Springs which is about 15 minutes away from the reservation. When we decided to go I was pretty excited and looking forward to it, especially because Azy was going with us and it would be her first hike too. I think I was most looking forward to the pictures that would be taken.  
I had no idea of the amazement and awe that would strike my heart once I stepped foot on that path. As we walked through I marveled at the lushness of the tall grass, huge escarpments of rock, and the trickling of water that weaves in between the rock structures. The first thought that came to my mind was, “This is absolutely beautiful,” and even that word can’t do what I saw justice.  
I couldn’t believe that God could make something that amazing and extravagant. Everything He makes is wonderful and amazing. He is the most creative one out there because creativity was invented by Him.  
It may sound like a strange thing to get out of a simple hike, but as we were walking through that canyon, God kept speaking to my heart about His love for me. He made me, just like He made that canyon, with such thought and precision . He carefully planned out my inmost being and knit it together cell by cell. He knows everything there is to know about every little piece of me, and he loves me with an uncontrollably passion. God will always have my heart. So When you doubt the beauty that you have, you only need to look around you. If he made that beautiful, and it’s just a rock, how much more beauty do you posses? 

“He has made everything beautiful in its time.” Ecclesiastes 3:11 

           

Leave a Reply

