Casting Away Your Worries

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. Philippians 4:6

Today was one of those days that I felt the Holy Spirit working through me. I felt Him flowing through my bones, and literally reaching out to His children. Anxiety, stress and fear are three things that are not of God. 2 Timothy states in chapter 1 verse 2, “For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.” So if God tells us that there is not fear when we are living in His presence, why do we hold onto those worries and stresses that are in the world?

I have discovered that a child I know has a deeply rooted fear of abandonment. This child (let’s call them Sam) worries so much that no one will be there to pick them up at the end of the day that they come to me crying, asking to call home or that their stomach hurts. I have told Sam many times that their parents love them so much and that they would never forget them. I have also tried to rationalize with Sam that the worst thing that could happen if their parent’s don’t come is that our principal would give them a ride home. Nothing seemed to work and this child has been coming to me every day in tears, or has been sitting in their desk trying hard not to let the other kids see them crying. Finally, yesterday, I pulled Sam out of the room and asked them if it would help if I prayed with them before school starts each day. They smiled and said yes.

So this morning, before the day started, I pulled them into the classroom, sat down with them and prayed together that Jesus would send His spirit to dwell within them. I cast out all fear and anxiety in His name, and called forth a good day of peace and security. After we prayed, I pulled out a set of cards that I had laminated last night and bound together. There was a scripture verse typed on each card, re-written in such a way that you can speak it upon yourself. I told Sam that there was a set of verses for them to keep at their desk, and a set for them to take home with them. Whenever Sam felt anxious or frightened, they could take out the set of cards and read them. I had hoped that this would help calm them down.

We went through the day doing all our normal things. When the end of the day came along, I had everyone take out their planners to write down their homework so they could pack up to go home. Sam approached me with a smile and said, “Thank you Mrs. Noack for praying with me this morning, it really helped!” I gave them a big hug and told them I was really glad they were so happy.

I tell this story, not to lift myself up, but to lift up the power of our AMAZING God!! He is so good and cares for each one of us. He desires for us to live full and happy lives in His arms and desires for us to grow stronger in His grace. God has taught me through this occasion that there is nothing to fear when we are living in His arms. He wipes all fear and worry away and leaves us with nothing by joy and peace. We can face any and all of life’s circumstances when we call upon His name and lean on His love.

Do you have stress, worry or fear in your life right now? If you do, let me ask you this, what are you doing about it? God gives us power and sound mind, NOT fear and weakness. He gives us the power to take ALL thoughts captive, and the power to cast all fear and worry away in His name. I encourage you right now to come before His cross and lay all your worries and stress at His feet. Let it all go and just watch how God can transform your heart and your life.

Abba Father,

Thank you for the power and authority you have given us over fear and stress. Thank you for your grace and mercy over our live. Let’s face it, we are sinful people and we doubt you. We doubt your love for us, and we doubt your presence in our lives. We even doubt your goodness and your desire for our lives to be full of joy and peace. Lord transform our hearts and our minds and direct them to you and you alone. Take them away from what the world has to offer us. Lord through your mercy, we take all our thoughts, fears, worries and stress captive in your name. We cast them out as far as the east is from the west, and we call upon our lives joy and peace in your name. It is not by our power that these things will come to be, but by yours and yours alone. You are so good and your mercy endures forever. Thank you for your love. Amen!

2 thoughts on “Casting Away Your Worries

Leave a Reply

