No fear when everything is counted as joy!

“Count is all joy brothers when you meet trials of various kinds.” James 1:2

64d0f071ff5664baef52e7e2842e6144.jpg (236×297)

Christ calls us to “pray and we will receive.”  He even says, “Where two or more are gathered in my name, there I am also.”  There are lots of things that are mentioned throughout scripture on the subject of prayer, and yes, prayer is extremely powerful.  But, are we praying for the right things?

Some people will tell you that if something terrible is happening to you, you must have done something wrong, and that is God’s punishment for you.  Others will tell you that you just need to pray a little harder, or you must not have enough faith, that’s why you haven’t been healed.  My question to you is, when did it become ok to put God in a box and tell Him what He needs to do?  When did it become our job to decide what is in our best interest?

Sin is in the world.  Because sin is in the world, so is the consequence of pain and suffering.  No, God does not like this consequence because He would prefer no sin, and peace.  However, that was our choice, not His.  But, since He is a Holy and Good God, He is able to take any amount of pain or suffering and turn it into something beautiful that is for the good of those who love Him.  What if we need to experience a certain amount of that suffering in order to reap the blessings that are for our best?

What if I need to not be healed from my rare disorder, at the moment or at all, in order for God’s good plan to work out?  This doesn’t make Him an evil God, it makes Him the best Father anyone could ask for because of the blessings He sees coming from it that I might not yet.  If I wait in His timing and wait in His arms, He will show me everything I need to know when I need to know it.  But ultimately, my best interest is in mind, whether I can see it or not.  

So my prayers from now on will not be, “God I pray healing over my body, in your name it is gone forever more.” (Unless of course He specifically tells me to.)  This does not mean that I don’t believe He can heal me, I know He can if He chooses.  But my prayers WILL be, “Lord your will be done, BUT there will be NO fear!”  

Fear.  A four letter word that can shake your world so hard and leave you literally crippled.  People can tell you over and over again to let it all go and not worry about anything.  They can throw all the Bible verses in the book at you until you are ready to swat them over the head with them.  But NOTHING can take that fear away if you won’t allow it to.  Until you are ready to accept that our Great God knows best, and can see so much more than we can, fear of not being in control of the situation, and fear of the unknown will consume you  so much that you will feel like you are drowning in it.  So here’s to letting go of what we can not control, and what we do not understand.

Lord, I will count all my struggles as joy, all my pain as a blessing for your good and perfect plan in your good and perfect timing.  

If it is your will Lord, not mine!

Leave a Reply

